1998 Discover Technology Awards: Judges

Wednesday, July 01, 1998
Aviation & Aerospace
Buzz Aldrin -- Gemini and Apollo astronaut; walked on the moon during the first lunar landing.
Donald E. Fink, Jr. -- Chairman, Editorial Board Launchspace magazine.
Walter "Wally" Schirra -- One of nasa's original seven astronauts; flew Mercury, Gemini, and Apollo spacecraft.
Patty Wagstaff -- Three-time winner and first woman recipient of the U.S. National Aerobatic Championship Award.

Computer Hardware & Electronics
Jim Hartz -- Host of the pbs science series Innovation.
Michael J. Miller -- Executive vice president, editorial director, Ziff-Davis; editor in chief, PC Magazine.
Dan Muse -- Editor, Family PC magazine.
Penn and Teller -- Debunkers of New Age pseudoscience; computer gear experts; rip-off artistes extraordinaire.
Gary Shapiro -- President, Consumer Electronics Manufacturers Association.

Computer Software
Stewart Cheifet -- Host and executive producer of the national pbs series The Computer Chronicles.
John C. Dvorak -- Columnist for PC Magazine, PC Computing, and various international publications.
Esther Dyson -- Editor, release 1.0; president, EDventure Holdings; chairman, Electronic Foundation.
David Gelernter -- Professor of computer science, Yale University; author, Machine Beauty: Elegance and the Heart of Technology.
Marvin Minsky -- MIT professor of computer science; pioneer of artificial intelligence; inventor, the confocal microscope.

Emerging Technology
Freeman Dyson -- Professor emeritus, Institute for Advanced Study.
Ronald Graham -- Chief scientist, at&t; Labs.
Dick W. Siegel -- Chairman of the Materials Science and Engineering Department, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.
Toyoichi Tanaka -- Otto and Jane Morningstar Professor of Science, mit.

Kathryn Fuller -- President and chief executive officer, World Wildlife Fund.
Denis Hayes -- Chairman of the board, Green Seal; organizer, Earth Day 1970 and Earth Day 1990; president, Bullitt Foundation.
Fred Krupp -- Executive director, the Environmental Defense Fund.
Thomas E. Lovejoy -- Counselor to the Secretary for Biodiversity and Environmental Affairs, the Smithsonian Institution.
Michael McCloskey -- Chairman, Sierra Club; adjunct professor of public policy, School of Natural Resources, University of Michigan.

Ronald C. Arkin -- Professor and director, Mobile Robot Laboratory, College of Computing, Georgia Tech.
Maja Mataric -- Assistant professor of computer science and neuroscience; associate director, Robotics Research Lab, University of Southern California.
Jonathan Mills -- Associate professor of computer science, Indiana University.
Peter Will -- Director of the Enterprise Integration Systems Division, usc/Information Sciences Institute.

Harry Benson -- Award-winning photojournalist.
Hans Fantel -- Consumer electronics columnist, the New York Times.
Marvin Kitman -- Television critic; humorist; syndicated columnist for Newsday and the Los Angeles Times Syndicate.
Gene Siskel -- Nationally syndicated film critic; cohost of Siskel and Ebert, the syndicated television show.

Ray Charles -- Jazz and blues singer, musician, and composer; recipient of the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences Lifetime Achievement Award.
Michael Greene -- President and ceo, National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences; presenter of the annual Grammy Awards.
Todd Rundgren -- Musician, record producer, video artist, computer programmer, art and technology spokesman.
Timothy White -- Editor in chief, Billboard magazine; author, Music to My Ears: The Billboard Essays, Portraits of Popular Music in the '90s, and The Entertainers; winner of ascap-Deems Taylor Award for excellence in music journalism.

Janet Guthrie -- First woman to race in the Indianapolis 500; former aerospace engineer.
James R. Healey -- Automotive writer, usa Today.
Maryann Keller -- President, Society of Automotive Analysts.
Shirley Muldowney -- Drag racer; three-time Winston World Champion.
Danny Sullivan -- Professional race car driver; 1985 winner of the Indianapolis 500; abc sports announcer for IndyCar.

Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation Evaluators

Aviation & Aerospace
Captain Jon A. McBride (USN, Retired) -- Cambridge Associates.
Ron Sega -- Dean of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.
Richard L. Young -- Builder and pilot of Wright Brothers Aircraft Replica.

Computer Hardware & Electronics
Marc A. Auslander -- IBM Fellow, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center.
Samuel H. Fuller -- Chief scientist and vice president, Corporate Technological Strategy and Service, Digital Equipment Corporation.
Venkatesh Narayanamurti -- Dean of Engineering, University of California at Santa Barbara.

Computer Software
Dwight M. Harris -- Professor of physics and technology, Fairmont State College, West Virginia.
Rocco L. Martino -- Chairman of the board, xrt.
Marvin Moody -- Attorney, Hill, Steadman & Simpson.

Emerging Technology
Michael Gottesman -- Deputy director, Intramural Research, National Institutes of Health.
Jerome P. Kassirer -- Editor in chief, New England Journal of Medicine.
Donna Marie Werner -- Attorney, Fitzpatrick, Cella, Harper and Scinto.

Michael A. Guillen -- Senior science correspondent, abc-tv.
Stephen A. Lingle -- Director, Environmental Engineering Research Division, Environmental Protection Agency.
William Rutherford -- Forest Park Foundation.

Hadi A. Abu-Akeel -- Senior vice president and chief engineer, fanuc Robotics na.
George E. Bekey -- Gordon Marshall Professor of Computer Science and director of robotics, University of Southern California.
Joseph Engelberger -- Chairman, Helpmate Robotics.

Kris K. Burhardt -- Vice president of technology development, Imation Corporation.
Lori Gemondo -- Owner, Pearle Vision.
Sam Gil -- Communications manager, Tasco.

Eva Franchi -- President, Sergio Franchi Music Scholarship.
Kenneth D. Jacob-- Director of professional products, Bose Corporation.
John A. Kleppe -- Professor of electrical engineering, University of Nevada at Reno.

Craig Breedlove -- Five-time world land-speed record holder.
Lester A. Hoel -- Professor of civil engineering, University of Virginia.
Joe Lorio -- Senior editor, Automobile magazine.
Comment on this article